Heart of Florida Section

FL APA Virtual Conference

Florida Planning Conference 2020

Don't forget to register for the first ever virtual Florida Planning Conference.  Registration is open until this Friday, September 4.  Take advantage of the reasonable rates for this year's conference and enjoy informative and enriching sessions, get your CM credits, and take part in fun, virtual activities with friends and colleagues throughout the conference.  

The virtual conference portal allows you to build your own schedule of sessions, browse the virtual exhibitor hall, send messages and start chats and chat groups with friends and new acquaintances, as well as participate in all the social events during the conference, and more!!  You won't want to miss it this year!

Get more information and register here:  https://florida.planning.org/

Don't forget to follow the conference on social media on social media!  


Our 2020 Award Recipients!


It doesn't seem like we'll be able to get together in person for this year's annual meeting and awards ceremony, so we would like to virtually announce our award winners.  We are proud of everyone working hard to elevate the planning profession by doing excellent work. 

Congratulations to our award recipients!  These projects are wonderful examples of how planners make a difference in our communities.  

Plan It! Award of Excellence - Polk City Park and Recreation Master Plan, City of Polk City

Build It! Award of Excellence - Advent Health Fieldhouse at Chain of Lakes Park, City of Winter Haven

Jan Johnson Public Participation Award of Excellence - Disc Golf Course Service Learning Project for the Master Plan, Polk County Natural Resources

Service Award - Marisa Barmby, AICP is recognized for her years of service to the Heart of Florida Section of APA Florida from 2011-2019.  Marisa served several roles on the HOF Executive Committee and her leadership in guiding and directing our section HOF has been much appreciated.  Marisa continues to participate and offer her support to the HOF Executive Committee.  Thank you, Marisa, for your dedication and commitment to HOF, its members, APA Florida, and the planning profession.  We're proud of your contributions.

We'd also like to send a shout out to our Awards Committee for reviewing and evaluating the applications for our awards.  Thank you for volunteering your time, knowledge, and leadership to this important program for HOF members.

Stay tuned for information about our virtual celebration!

Virtual Social Hour

Hello HOF Members!

Let's shake off the quarantine blues and meet each other, virtually, for a social hour and scavenger hunt!  WeBrady Bunch Zoom may  not be able to gather in person to catch up and share news about what's going on in our lives, but we can still connect with each other and have a little fun.

Grab  your favorite beverage and join us on Zoom May 15 @ 5:30

Check your email for the Zoom link!

HOF Annual Meeting POSTPONED

We have decided to use an abundance of caution for the sake of everyone's health and wellness and postpone the Annual Meeting on March 20, 2020.

Please watch your email and check back here for updates and information about rescheduling the meeting.

Thank you for your understanding.


Your HOF Executive Committee

Heart of Florida Annual Meeting 2020

Save the Date! 

The APA Florida Heart of Florida Section will hold its Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony on March 20, 2020 at 11:30 am

We are also asking for nominations for the  should be submitted using the form: 2020 HOF Awards Application Form.  

Avon Park Air Force Range Field Day

HOF Members learning about the mission and operations of the APAFR

Heart of Florida Section Members participated in a field day at the Avon Park Air Force Range (APAFR), in Avon Park, FL on January 28, 2020.

HOF members exploring the mock training village at APAFR

The day began with an overview of the mission and operations of the APAFR, from Buck McLaughlin, 598th Range Squadron Range Operations Officer. The APFR is the US Air Force's largest Primary Training Range east of the Mississippi River and offer public use opportunities for hunting, camping, fishing and other recreational activities. Range staff explained how these activities are coordinated with military training exercises and the efforts made to preserve the natural, Florida landscape and eco-system. The Central Florida Regional Planning has worked jointly with leaders at APAFR on a Joint Land Use Study (JLUS) and Sentinal Landscape program to plan for compatible land uses within the flight path boundaries and specific training activities, while ensuring the environment is protected.

Night google demonstration

HOF members enjoyed a tour of the range, which included a visit to a mock village used to train military troops, airfields, and a designated campground on property. Range staff provided information about the numerous programs and public uses on property, answered questions from our members, and provided information about how to enjoy all that the APAFR has to offer the public. The day ended with a demonstration of night vision goggles, which emphasized the importance of dark-sky regulations.