About the First Coast Section

Jacksonville Main Street Bridge

Welcome to the First Coast!

The First Coast Section of the Florida Chapter of the American Planning Association (APA) serves its membership in Baker, Clay, Duval, Flagler, Nassau, Putnam and St. Johns Counties.

APA and its professional institute, the American Institute of Certified Planners (AICP), are organized to advance the art and science of planning and to foster the activity of planning — physical, economic, and social — at the local, regional, state, and national level. The objective of APA is to encourage planning that will contribute to the development of communities and environments that meet the needs of people and of society more effectively.

The purpose of the First Coast Section of the Florida Chapter of the American Planning Association is the study and advancement of the art and science of local, regional, state, and national planning; the furtherance of the interests of the profession; the promotion of fellowship among members of the Section; Chapter and Association, all in the particular sphere of planning of the unified development of urban communities and their environs and of states, regions and the nation; and, such other purposes as the Association may time to time declare.

Contact us

Comments or questions are always welcome. Below is a roster of our section leadership. You can fill out this contact form to get a hold of us. 

Position Name
Chair Wiatt Bowers, AICP
Vice-Chair Ennis Davis, AICP
Secretary Shalene Estes, AICP
Treasurer Stephen Tocknell, AICP
Immediate Past Chair Tony Robbins, AICP
Director Alyce Decker, AICP
Director Valerie Feinberg, AICP
Director Janis Fleet, AICP
Director Lindsay Haga, AICP
Director Jennifer Hewitt Apperson, AICP
Director Ben Moore, AICP, LEED AP
Director Ray Spofford, AICP
Director Aubyn Williams, AICP
Profesional Development Officer Neth Payme, AICP, LEED AP
Young Planners Group Liaison Derek Reeves