The 2020 Class of Fellows Nomination process is well underway.  We began this process in December of 2018 and it will be completed in April at the APA National Conference in Houston with an induction ceremony for those selected by the APA National FAICP Committee.

The minimum requirements for eligibility as a Fellow include:

  • Member of AICP for at least 15 years (at time of nomination deadline, October 10, 2019).
  • Member of AICP in good standing (dues paid, CM requirements up to date, and no ethical violations).
  • Outstanding contribution to the profession over an extended period of time.

As described in the FAICP Nomination Guidelines for 2020, “not every AICP member meeting the minimum requirements qualifies as a nominee. Fellow nominees must exhibit their specific contributions to the profession and community (-ies) that have made a significant difference or had a transformative effect. While longevity merits recognition, it is not the primary criterion the selection committee will consider. The outcomes of a nominee’s efforts in professional practice, teaching and mentoring, research, and community service and leadership, however, are of special importance and should be clearly described.” 

Qualified individuals may be elected to the AICP College of Fellows under one of the four nomination categories:

  • Professional Practice
  • Teaching and Mentoring
  • Research
  • Community Service & Leadership

Please join me in congratulating the following four Florida nominees endorsed by the APA FL Executive Committee:

  • Alan Reynolds, AICP
  • Henry Bittaker, AICP
  • Alissa Barber Torres, PhD, AICP, CLTD
  • Silvia Vargas, AICP, LEED AP

Thank you for setting the bar high for those who aspire to be part of this process at some point in their career.  You have and will continue to inspire others to do more and to do better. 

To the APA Florida Executive Board, thank you for the endorsement of these fine four examples of excellence in planning representing the planners of our State.  Your endorsement meant a lot to each nominee.

I would also like to extend our thanks to the following planners who mentored the nominees through the cumbersome application process:

  • Jim Paulmann, FAICP
  • Susan Coughanour, FAICP
  • Whit Blanton, FAICP
  • Mary Kay Peck Delk, FAICP

Finally, I would like to acknowledge the APA FL 2020 Class of Fellows Nomination Committee for the time and effort they put into this process – from assisting in reviewing the list of eligible nominees from Florida, to suggesting candidates, who met the criteria for nomination, to vetting those considered for nomination, to endorsing them, and also to mentoring them.   I am personally grateful to each of you for your willingness to help with this process and humbled to get to serve on this committee alongside you.  You have all taught me a great deal through this process.  

  • Merle Bishop, FAICP
  • Mary Kay Peck Delk, FAICP
  • Clarence Eng, FAICP
  • Rochelle Lawadales, FAICP
  • Nancy Stroud, FAICP
  • Jill Quigley, AICP

All four nomination packages have been completed and received by APA. APA will contact the nominees and APA Florida in February with their determinations.   

To learn more about the College of Fellows and the nomination process, please go to the FAICP website at

I am humbled to have been able to be a part of this process with everyone one of you who has been involved and I wish the nominees the very best in the remainder of this process.


Allison Megrath, AICP

APA FL Professional Development Officer

APA FL 2020 Class of Fellows Nomination Committee Chair

At NPC18, the following Florida planners were inducted into the College of Fellows: (left to right) Susan Coughanour, FAICP, Clarence Eng, FAICP, Mary Gibbs, FAICP, Daniel Kirby, FAICP, Nancy Stroud, FAICP, Steven Tindale, FAICP, Rochelle Lawandales, FAICP.

Current Florida FAICP Members

Robert E. Ansley, FAICP

Owen M. Beitsch, FAICP

Daniel D. Bird, FAICP

Merle H. Bishop, FAICP

Whit Blanton, FAICP

Roger D. Blevins, FAICP

Claude E. Boles, FAICP

Mary Anne G. Bowie, FAICP

Michael P. Brooks, FAICP

Brian C. Canin, FAICP

Anthony J. Catanese, FAICP

Ramond A. Chiaramonte, FAICP

Susan M. Coughanour, FAICP

Victor B. Dover, FAICP

Clarence Eng, FAICP

Charles R. Gauthier, FAICP

Mary Gibbs, FAICP

David M. Haight, FAICP

Harlan Hanson, FAICP

David P. Healey, FAICP

Valerie J. Hubbard, FAICP

Robert B. Hunter, FAICP

Daniel L. Kirby, FAICP

Rochelle W. Lawandales, FAICP

Paul S. Lewis, FAICP

Steven G. Lindorff, FAICP

Saralee L. Morrissey, FAICP

Robert J. Mulhere, FAICP

Charles G. Pattison, FAICP

James A. Paulmann, FAICP

Mary Kay Peck, FAICP

Thomas G. Pelham, FAICP

David J. Portman, FAICP

Sergio Rodriguez, FAICP

Christopher Silver, FAICP

Brian K. Smith, FAICP

Lester L. Solin, FAICP

William M. Spikowski, FAICP

Jay M. Stein, FAICP

Bruce S. Stiftel, FAICP

Nancy E. Stroud, FAICP

Steven A. Tindale, FAICP

Susan L. Trevarthen, FAICP

Lincoln N. Walther, FAICP